United Kingdom
United States

Chew Valley Lake SC

    RS200 SCOTTISH TRAVELLERS – DALGETY BAY SAILING CLUB, 20 / 21 MAY The second RS200 event of the Scottish series was the most keenly contested in several years. Races won by 4 boats, a boat with 3 wins finishing 4th overall, and the overall winner not winning a race. Only 4 points separated the front 4 boats, and the result was all determined in the last race. Saturday racing was held in a south easterly between 6 and 8 knots, with some gentle shifts. Robbie Burns and Vicki Simpson led the first race, in a close match with Ronnie Millar and Jenifer Reekie. Sarah Robertson and Kate Mitchell joined them on the second lap and a 3 way match developed. Millar twice appeared to have the race won, but hit a mark both times, forgetting that normal RS rules didn’t apply. Robertson took advantage to win the race, Millar took 2nd and abuse from his crew, Burns 3rd. Races 2 and 3 were dominated by Bess Homer and Kirsty Higgins. Showing better speed and strategy than the rest of the fleet they led both races off the line to the finish. In the fight for the minor places Burns took 3rd in both races, Millar a 2nd and 4th, and Robertson a 6th and 2nd. This left Homer and Millar both on 8 points overnight, with Burns and Robertson both on 9 points. Sunday racing saw a building easterly, at around 8 knots for race 4, and 12 to 14 knots for races 5 and 6 – and some sunshine, for proper east coast sailing! Race 4 was led and controlled by Burns off the line, with Millar and Robertson battling for 2nd place, Millar taking it at the finish. The increased wind strength for Race 5 saw increased speed from Douglas and Kirsty Hamilton. He, Millar and Robertson broke away from the fleet and with some close racing all three finished together, with Hamilton taking the win on the line, Millar 2nd and Robertson 3rd. Burns battled his spinnaker for most of the race, with the general view that the spinnaker had a narrow points victory, restricting Burns to 4th place. It was a “get the abacus” out session to work out strategy for the final race, with Millar leading by one point from Robertson, and Burns 1 point further back. Bess Homer decided she had done enough slow sailing and shot off into the lead, and was never seen again by the rest of the fleet. However Homers 2 speed strategy – either Ferrari or Fiat with nothing inbetween – cost her in the overall positions, as outside her 3 race wins her next best result was a 6th. Hamilton showed his preferences for the greater wind strengths again by joining Millar and Burns in a battle for 2nd place, with Robertson having slipped behind into the rest of the fleet. Millar again demonstrated his liking for penalty turns, this time via a mark and another boat – more abuse from the crew followed! This allowed both Hamilton and Burns through, but with Hamilton taking the 2nd place, Burns was only able to reduce his 2 point deficit on Millar by 1 point, leaving Millar the overall winner and Burns 2nd. Robertson finished the race 5th to take 3rd overall, 1 point behind Burns. The next round is at North Berwick, where contrary to the opinion of those attending the 2004 Nationals, the fog does lift to see further than 200 yards on occasion. Cloudless skies, sea breezes, big waves and ice cream on coming ashore all expected – what sailing in Scotland is always like! DBSC Purvis Regatta 2006 RS200
    1 1167 Ronald Millar Jenifer Reekie Dalgety Bay SC 12 2 2 4 2 2 4 2 202 Robbie Burns Vicki Simpson Largs SC 13 3 3 3 1 4 3 3 998 Sarah Robertson Kate Mitchell Dalgety Bay SC 14 1 6 2 3 3 5 4 866 Bess Homer Kirsty Higgins Dalgety Bay SC 16 6 1 1 7 8 1 5 783 Douglas Hamilton Kirsty Hamilton Loch Tummel 19 4 7 10 5 1 2 6 526 Liz Jamie Liz Copland Dalgety Bay SC 25 5 4 5 6 5 6 7 390 Sarah Meldrum Jessica Copland Dalgety Bay SC 34 9 10 7 4 7 7 8 914 John Mucklow Carolyn Priestley Dalgety Bay SC 40 8 9 9 11 6 8 9 806 Neil Mclure Daryll Tidd Dalgety Bay SC 43 10 5 8 11 9 11 10 723 Euan Dunn Kirstin Dunn Loch Lomond 43 7 8 6 11 11 11
    Website Security Test