United Kingdom
United States

SEANS Event 2 Deben YC

  • Crewsaver EOS Champs
  • 2012 RS EOS Champs
  • Llandegfedd Open 2013
  • RS 10th Anniversary Ball
  • RS200 Eurocup, YC Carnac, May 2018
  • RS200 Eurocup, YC Carnac, May 2018
Seven visitors joined eight local boats for Deben Yacht Club’s first RS200 South East Area Northern Series (SEANS) open meeting on Sunday 16th April 2006. Three races were sailed back to back around a course set two miles down river between Methersgate Quay and the Tips. A force 3 north-westerly breeze enabled a windward leeward course to be set with a mile long beat with the tide. Bringing the fleet through a gate on each beat ensured the races were turned around without delay. The first race provided close racing throughout for all but Simon Gillow and Emma Harniman who broke away on the first beat. Places changes throughout the three lap race, particularly downwind where the tide proved a distraction, following the wind and the shifts being of greater importance. Having held the lead for almost the entire race Gillow and Harniman lost out to Tom Alexander and Suzy Brome who foresaw the temporary drop in the breeze and held the starboard gybe another 100 yards before gybing into the mark and the tide on port at a closer angle giving them the race by a couple of boat lengths. The remainder of the fleet finished within a couple of minutes. The second race took place in a strengthening breeze although it continued to oscillate fairly steadily across a 30 degree range. These conditions ensured another very close race with places constantly changing both upwind and downwind. Andy Riley and Julie Marsden took an early lead on the first beat to round the windward mark first, a position they held until an impromptu capsize on the second beat lost them significant ground. The second downwind leg appeared to favour taking the starboard bank as the wind shifted left and strengthened giving a fast port gybe into the mark. James Griffith and Oscar Ford spotted this ahead of the majority of the fleet and gybed early to catch the breeze and rounded the mark with a good lead. Gillow and Harniman had gone to the left bank again but came out into the tide early to pick up some of the breeze and limit the damage. A good final beat from Gillow and Harniman gave them the race and the event. A steady performance from Robin Parsons and Jonny Shuster secured them second place. The final race took place in a dying breeze although the tide was beginning to turn and as a result three laps were still completed within an hour. A close first beat ended with Ben Alexander and Mike Hanes squeezing into the lead to round the windward mark first narrowly followed by Parsons and Shuster. A final wind shift right held and enabled the starboard gybe to be maintained to the leeward mark which significantly reduced the place changes for the remainder of the race and enabled Alexander and Hanes and Parsons and Shuster to hold their positions until the end. Sam Littlejohn and Alice Sepe produced the most consistent performance of the day achieving third place in all three races but they lost out on third place overall on the breaking of ties rules.
To follow
Website Security Test